Flipping out with the Flipped Classroom! FULT Module 2

THE FLIPPED CLASSROOM

Not a term I had ever come across before I watched the video prior to the session. At first, I thought it was perhaps some “woo woo” “Edu-speak”!

After watching the video, I am pleased to report that I like the concept of the “flipped classroom! What”s more, I think that I will use it, and even better than that, I think it will make my life as a medical student teacher easier!  And even better than that (yes, I know, a few too many superlatives here….), it will probably improve the outcomes for my students, and ultimately for their future patients. Win, win, win, win!!

WHAT IS A FLIPPED CLASSROOM?

Basically, it turns class time from teaching time, to learning and practical application of the concepts, bringing the onus on the student to go through the material prior to the session. I guess, pre-reading on steroids!

PROCEDURE :

  1. Pre-record material – reduces it from 50 min to between 12 and 24 minutes – I wonder what quality of video would be required? Would need to work out how to incorporate diagrams into the video. I reckon I could encourage my tech savvy ten year old son Max to assist with this….if he can work out how to incorporate how he plays certain games into his YouTube videos with his voice over the top, I am sure he could help me with this! Or perhaps the university may subsidise the recording of a video…..I reckon most students would be ok with watching a video before hand. It has certainly worked well for this course!! And they can do it any where, any time, oh the wonders of modern technology!
  2. Start of the session – open book quiz – this would certainly hopefully increase the compliance with “pre-watching”. The risk is that if they haven’t bothered to watch the video beforehand then they may waste everyone’s time during the session. There must be some way to ensure that watching the lecture precedes attending the session. A quiz is a great ides, I wonder what other ways there are.
  3. There are two discussion questions during the session, and students are broken up into small groups and roles are assigned. The tasks are designed to challenge creative / critical thinking. The facilitator circulates during this time
  4. The facilitator pre-selects a few groups to come up and present – how is this done? What are the parameters? What about those who think that presenting is a near death experience either because the come from a NESB / CALD or because of performance anxiety. I wonder how the “threat” of presenting may affect the student’s motivation in the class. Yes it would motivate, but in the right way?
  5. At the end of the time, the attention is brought back to the front. The lecturer photographs all of the responses which are placed on “response boards” but really it could be done in any format.
  6. The selected few do their presentations which are recorded and forms an “artefact of learning” (Gotta love these edu-speak terms I am learning!!!)
  7. This process is done again for a second mini-project
  8. There is time for questions at the end – when I have had to give lectures to Phase 1 med (?400 students) it has always fascinated me how the few who straggle up the front to ask questions self-select? Is it through pity for the lecturer? Are they the ones who always ask questions? Are they ones with the excellent knowledge anyway who really probably aren’t the ones who need to be asking questions?!?

THOUGHT ON HOW TO APPLY THE FLIPPED CLASSROOM

University of Notre Dame – giving the same Rehab spiel twice a week is getting a little passe. I could see that pre-recording a video of the spiel I usually give could not only free up some time for me (if I am busy, they can watch it on one of our ipads) but will also give some more time for patient history taking.

DETAILED LESSON PLAN

Please click on the Flipped Classroom Lesson Plan Template – Rehab placement for the Flipped Lesson Plan for utilising the Flipped lesson Plan” for teaching of Rehabilitation concepts to second year medical students at Notre Dame (this will be included in the E-Portfolio at the end of the FULT course) .

FLIPPED LESSON PLAN REFLECTION

Write a reflection in your e-portfolio on the potential benefits and challenges of flipped classroom in your own teaching context drawing from the ideas in this module’s video, your discussions in class, your own perspectives, and the comments from today’s panelists.

Leave a comment